ISHOF to honor waterpolo players in Malaga 2008

Water-polo news from all championships around the world.

Συντονιστής: Lambros10

ISHOF to honor waterpolo players in Malaga 2008

Δημοσίευσηαπό Lambros10 » Παρ Ιουν 20, 2008 10:29 am

The International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) announced that a special Induction Ceremony for Water Polo Honorees, sponsored by DHL, will take place at the Castillo de Gibralfaro, in Malaga, Spain, on Saturday evening, July the 12th, at 10:30 pm CEST. The Ceremony is being organized in collaboration with the Ligue Européenne de Natation (LEN), the governing body for the aquatic disciplines in Europe, as part of the European Water Polo Championships, also taking place in Malaga from July 4th to 13th. The Ceremony will recognize Croatian Perica Bukic and Australian Debbie Watson as Honor Water Polo Players, and Italian Film-maker Nanni Moretti as ISHOF’s 2008 Gold Medallion Award recipient.

Perica Bukic, a highly succesful waterpolo player from Croatia, won two Olympic Gold medals for Yugoslavia (1984 & 1988) and a silver medal for Croatia at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta. Representing Yugoslavia, he won gold at the 1986 FINA World Championship and 1991 FINA World Cup and was three times vice-champion at the European Championships (1985, 1987 & 1989).

Debbie Watson has the distinction of being the first female water polo player to enter the Hall of Fame. Representing Australia, she is the only women’s waterpolo player in history to win World Championship, World Cup and Olympic gold medals. Women’s waterpolo joined the Olympic program for the first time in 2000, at the Sydney Olympics.

Nanni Moretti, one of Italy’s best known film-makers and actors, is being recognized with ISHOF’s Gold Medallion Award. This award is conferred annually upon an individual who has been a former competitive swimmer who has achieved international recognition for accomplishments in the fields of science, government, entertainment, business or education, and whose life serves as an inspiration to youth. Past recipients of ISHOF’s most prestigious award include: US President, Ronald Reagan, US Ambassador to the United Nations Andrew Young, Entertainers Buddy Ebsen and Esther Williams, IOC member Richard Pound (Canada), and FIFA President Joao Havelange (Brazil) to name a few.

Moretti, a waterpolo player in his youth, has won international acclaim as a screenwriter, producer, director and actor in dozens of films. In 1993, he was recognized by the Cannes Film Festival as “Best Director” for Caro Diario, and in 2001, Stanza del Figlio received the Palme D’Or, as the year’s “Best Film.” He has taught the “Master Cinema Class” at Cannes and is the director of the Turin Film Festival. His 1989 comedy hit, "Palombella Rossa" (US title: "Red Wood Pigeon") , recounted his experiences as a waterpolo player.
Άβαταρ μέλους
Site Admin
Δημοσιεύσεις: 2168
Εγγραφή: Τρί Ιαν 18, 2005 5:09 pm

Επιστροφή στο News for Water-Polo around the world

Μέλη σε σύνδεση

Μέλη σε αυτή την Δ. Συζήτηση : Δεν υπάρχουν εγγεγραμμένα μέλη και 1 επισκέπτης